Usury ebook download

January 14, 2015 § 18 Comments

UPDATE: The second edition of the ebook is now available in epub, mobi, and PDF.

You can download my Usury FAQ as an ebook in either epub or mobi (for Kindle) format.  If you find any errors or whatever by all means let me know.  I am placing them in the public domain, so feel free to pass them around to whomever you like, and be sure to check out how you can join the Friends of St. Martin de Porres.

§ 18 Responses to Usury ebook download

  • Kidd Cudi says:

    Impressive. You turned that around quick.

  • […] Source: Zippy Catholic […]

  • williamluse says:

    What device or software do I need to read an epub?

    I was hoping to be able to pay money for it.

  • Alte says:

    Like the pic.

    Couldn’t get the Kindle version to open, but the epub works fine on my PlayBooks.

  • Alte says:

    Have you considered adding it to the Amazon library?

    Once I’ve read it, I’ll try to figure out how to review it in GoodReads.

  • Zippy says:

    Bill,
    I used the iBooks app and the Kindle app respectively. My own main e-reader is the Kindle Voyage. There is free software called “Calibre” that will read it in and convert it to all sorts of formats. In fact I actually did generate a PDF, which was readable but looked like Hell. Calibre was what I used to generate the mobi version from the epub.
    Alte,
    I don’t know how to add it to the Amazon library but I’ll have a look when I get the chance.

  • CJ says:

    I’ll be sure to download it when I get home. When’s the Game book coming? (Joking/Not Joking)

  • wdydfae says:

    Zippy,

    I’m just a faithful lurker.

    CJ beat me to it. Is there a possibility of your also putting ebooks together on any of the following subjects? I’ve found you to be very incisive and helpful on them:

    – epistemology/ontology/modernism/liberalism

    – “game” and manosphere issues

    – torture/”enhanced interrogation”/Catholic teaching

    – “hard” passages in the bible (OT)/biblical literalism/biblical inerrancy

    Lurk mode back on.

  • Zippy says:

    Alte:

    Couldn’t get the Kindle version to open, but the epub works fine on my PlayBooks.

    One other person said the same thing. The .mobi was generated by Calbre from the .epub — the .epub is the ‘master’ if you will.

    I’ve tested the .mobi on two Kindle devices (Voyage and an old physical keyboard model) using three different ways of getting it to the device (direct copy into “documents” folder on Kindle from a PC, email to the device’s email address @ kindle.com, and download from the Amazon “Cloud”). I’ve also tested it on the Mac and iPhone Kindle apps. No problems in that permutation.

    What kind of device and what transfer method did you try? There are quite a few different kinds of Kindles other than the two I tested, and I did not test on a Fire tablet (don’t have one).

  • I’ve downloaded it onto my laptop easily enough.

    Thanks for making this available for free Zippy! I’ll read it forthwith and like Alte, review it on Good Reads. I had never even thought about usury before you started writing these posts, so I haven’t had anything to contribute to the discussion, but I’ve been reading along faithfully and thinking about it all.

  • jf12 says:

    Game and usury have several similarities besides being intrisically immoral and objectification issues. For example they both “work”. But a much larger aspect is that they flourish during times when charity faileth.

  • Peter Blood says:

    I emailed to an original Kindle Fire, it works there.

  • Zippy says:

    I don’t have a Kindle Fire, but apparently downloading a .mobi file to it directly and clicking on it is not sufficient. See e.g.

    http://www.iuniverse.com/FAQs/Sideload-Your-Mobi-eBook-File-Onto-Kindle-Fire.aspx

    Odd that it was simple to download directly to the Kindle app on iDevices — you would think it would be easier on Amazon’s own device. But perhaps that is because the DropBox app handles the details.

  • […] (NOTE: This preface was edited slightly for inclusion in the ebook). […]

  • […] money and societal morality. Related: Zippy has an e-book out on usury. Related: Gold, Bitcoin, and […]

  • […] [Note: this FAQ is also available in the form of a public domain ebook] […]

  • […] be inappropriate to just ignore the discussion in my friend Paul Cella’s kind review of my usury ebook. The discussion there may be of interest to readers of this […]

  • […] of the areas which the Usury FAQ / ebook (in its present revision) may not cover adequately for some readers are the concepts of […]

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Usury ebook download at Zippy Catholic.

meta