Occam’s Razor Magazine: nancy-boy spammety spam spammers

April 28, 2014 § 12 Comments

This is a public service announcement.

Pingbacks are a feature of the WordPress software.  When some other blog links to something on this blog I get notified with a pingback.  If I approve the pingback, a link back to the other blog is entered in the comment stream.

Pingback SPAM is when another site generates a pingback without actually linking here.  The hope seems to be that bloggers like me will approve the pingback and create a link to the other site, which will drive traffic to the other site and increase its search rank.

I’ve been getting occasional pingback SPAM from a blog that calls itself “Occam’s Razor Magazine” for some time now.  (That a tiny and insignificant blog like mine gets this pingback SPAM seems to indicate either that the SPAM campaign is hitting a large number of blogs or that the folks creating the SPAM are exceptionally dumb).  I won’t link to it, but the most recent pingback came from a post entitled “Is Mainstream Christianity Dead Set on the Destruction of Western Peoples?”  It has gotten annoying enough that I posted the following in the comment thread:

Screen Shot

The nancy-boys who run the blog just silently deleted the comment rather than actually addressing it.

I don’t know if the content of that blog is interesting, and I’m not going to find out because I am not going to read it.  But whatever the quality of content may be, readers deserve to know that it is run by nancy-boy spammers; and if you don’t want to play the chump you might not want to approve their spammy pingbacks.

UPDATE:
Fresh out of my trash can, taken from next to the coffee grounds and banana peels, this screenshot shows a few of the other blogs getting spammed by these losers:

Screen Shot 2014-04-28 at 12.33.33 PM

 

UPDATE 2:

The site editor and I have now corresponded (links and email addresses redacted):

Occam’s Razor <>
9:04 AM (2 hours ago)

to Zippy
Have at it, but even more interesting might be my recent post on New Creationism:

Best,

AWC

 

On Thu, Jul 3, 2014 at 9:45 AM, Zippy <> wrote:
Mr. Clark,

Thanks and I accept the apology. You may be interested to know that I griped in the combox (as the easiest/quickest way to contact you) about the pingbacks and one of your moderators deleted my comment without sending me email or providing any other feedback. Deleting a comment is of course always legitimately a matter of the editor’s discretion, but some communication (since it was a matter of site administration that was affecting my blog and my personal workflow) could have avoided confusion.

I appreciate the generous invitation to guest blog, but I am going to pass. My personal idiosyncrasies make me rather unsuitable for collaborative blogging.

With your permission I will post this correspondence for the record, and to close the matter.

Pax,
Z

Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2014 15:53:18 -0500
Subject: Apology
From:
To:

 

Dear Zippy,

Someone brought to my attention today that you complained that our blog had linked to you via some automated template we had used in the past.

For our posts on religion, he had initially used a template that contained links to some of our favorite religious bloggers — including yours truly. But after complaints about pingbacks, we stopped using it. In fact, I believe we only used the template a few times before ceasing to use it.

Anyway, sorry for any inconvenience it might have caused.

BTW, we’re hoping to expand Occam’s Razor soon with more guest blogging and would perhaps like you invite you to submit a guest post.
Best,

Alfred W. Clark
Occam’s Razor Mag

§ 12 Responses to Occam’s Razor Magazine: nancy-boy spammety spam spammers

  • Elspeth says:

    I recently got a pingback from that very same blog, and before approving it, I went to the post on question and clicked on every link in it to see if it was something I wanted to direct my readers to.

    There was not one link to anything I’d written so I didn’t approve the pingback. I wondered what that was all about, since my blog is even less read than yours I’d wager.

  • Cane Caldo says:

    They deleted your comment, huh. Fargin bastiges. We should deport them to Sweden.

  • Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] This is something for the engineers at Akismet to look into.

  • Zippy says:

    Cane:
    Hah. I just want them to stop annoying me and wasting my time with their SPAM. Then they can disappear back into the vast realm of things I don’t know about and don’t care about.

  • sunshinemary says:

    Zippy, the blogmaster at Occam’s is Alfred W. Clark, and he is a secular neoreactionary. He points out ways in which the modern church is contributing to the social and cultural decline of the West, just as Dalrock does with respect to Christianity and marriage/divorce/feminism, but Mr. Clark seems to have an active hatred for Christianity. He has *some* valid criticism, but if one tries to explain how those problems mostly stem from our modern Church refusing to obey the Bible and church traditions rather than from Christianity per se, it falls on deaf ears unfortunately. This past summer I tried to have a conversation there on this topic with several secular neoreactionaries, and the upshot of the conversation was that I was told I ought to change my Christianity for paganism if I still felt the need for spiritual myths.

    Still, I left OR in my blogroll since other articles there are sometimes quite interesting so long as they don’t deal with religion. However, I too received this ping back today; it would appear that we are perhaps being rather aggressively proselytized. Since Mr. Clark would not do you the courtesy of a simple explanation, I have removed him from my blogroll now.

  • I switched to using the “read more” feature for all my posts, where two clicks are required to read a full post and that seems to have solved the problem.

    When I was more active in the nutrition/food blog world, where that kind of fake pingback was quite common, the “read more” feature seemed to reduce or eliminate those pingbacks for bloggers who used it.

  • Zippy says:

    TUW:
    Thanks for the suggestion. I suppose if my blog was popular enough to have a general pingback SPAM problem I might have to take different steps — maybe just shut off pingbacks entirely, as I did “likes” (at least in the web view). (I know, I know — the earth shakes at the vast influence of my ideas. But my blog traffic is not heavy).

    This is really just a specific SPAM problem with a specific spammer. If they had just said “sorry, our bad, we won’t do it again” instead of deleting my comment that would have been the end of it as far as I am concerned. So now at least people who read me will know what sort of folks they are, and can act as they see fit in response to that information. And when I see their pingbacks in other places I frequent — I don’t really read very many blogs — I can point back to this post so the blog owner knows, since fair is fair.

    Sunlight, disinfectant, and all that.

  • Yeah Zippy, alas, it is not because of the great popularity of your blog that you got spammed. I know this because I too got spammed. I have a regular readership of around ten. My best posts get about twenty comments.

    So they’re just casting a wide net.

  • I didn’t allow the pingback and just didn’t give any of it a second thought.

  • Alte says:

    They used to spam TC, but I didn’t let their pingbacks through. They are, at least, managing to get us to check out their site.

  • Dalrock says:

    Good catch Zippy. I had caught a few of these but after reading your post found one that had slipped through.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Occam’s Razor Magazine: nancy-boy spammety spam spammers at Zippy Catholic.

meta

