Googly narcissism

April 15, 2014 § 25 Comments

Inspired by this thread I did a little experiment and got the following result:

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 11.17.09 AM

 

§ 25 Responses to Googly narcissism

  • Amyclae says:

    I’m not sure what’s worth, being known as an awesome antichrist or not being known by Google at all… That’s a joke. It’s clearly better to be known as an awesome antichrist.

  • Latias says:

    You can type in “ash ketchum a” to learn his religion.

  • jf12 says:

    zippy catholic is e

  • sunshinemary says:

    Hilarious. Mine is dull:

    “Sunshine Mary is a______” …can you guess? It fills in the word “man” of course (maybe someone should get Matt Forney to track down my gynecological records to clear up this pressing matter 🙂 ).

    @ jf12
    I tried to google “jf12 is a” but it turns out jf12 is actually a thing. And it looks like it’s some kind of boring physics thing or something.

  • jf12 says:

    @SSM, physics isn’t boring! Physics is … phun, the study of, like sex. Obviously. I’m all about t … that action boss, that life, the service darlin.

    I was sorry to hear of your travails. You should know that I appreciate your efforts. Maybe someone was jealous of your energy.

  • Zippy says:

    I must be just powerfully influential, because Occam’s Razor “magazine” keeps spamming me with false pingbacks (pingbacks from posts of theirs that don’t actually link to anything I wrote).

    Occam’s Razor: the telemarketers of neoreaction.

  • For the record when I typed in “how to” nothing particularly interesting, sexual or otherwise, popped up. Apparently I’m pretty boring.

  • Cane Caldo says:

    I must be just powerfully influential, because Occam’s Razor “magazine” keeps spamming me with false pingbacks (pingbacks from posts of theirs that don’t actually link to anything I wrote).

    Occam’s Razor: the telemarketers of neoreaction.

    I received one as well, but–like my giant Publisher’s Clearinghouse check–I assumed it was lost in the post.

  • Zippy says:

    Occam’s Razor is a pingback SPAM factory. I’ve gotten quite a few of them. I always mark them as SPAM, but WordPress doesn’t seem to care because I keep getting them occasionally.

    I will never, never, never, never read any of their stuff, because they are a SPAM factory and can go to Hell.

  • Cane Caldo says:

    @Zippy

    Good to know.

    Now if I could just get some clarification from the Ed McMahon estate…

  • jf12 says:

    So, can highly predictive autocomplete, combined with a small but nonzero percentage of transcription errors, have a meaningful conversation with itself?

  • Zippy says:

    I get occasional spammy “likes” too — even though they are turned off in the web views they are still ‘there’ in native phone apps, and spammers must know how to trigger them.

    I get the sense that some parts of Skynet think we are influential because other parts of Skynet think we are influential, like one of those multiple-agency sting operations where everyone turns out to be working for the government. In reality this blog is just me, the padded walls, and a few sometimes-mildly-interested readers half as crazy as I am.

  • Cane Caldo says:

    I READ YOU TK421. THE CHICKEN IS IN THE POT. REPEAT: THE CHICKEN IS IN THE POT. OVER.

  • jf12 says:

    I’m going to assume there is a squidgy threshold of competence for long-text-string autocomplete, and therefore when the algorithms have attained some measure of ability in autocompleting then the effects of what I’m talking about don’t depend on the details of “how good” the autocompleting is. Therefore, the degree of random errors is where the action is. What degree of randomization of a long autocomplete, fed back semi-iteratively (actually it’s doubly-linked real-time processed, i.e. semi-sequentially), produces the funnest results?

  • Zippy says:

    jf12:

    What degree of randomization of a long autocomplete, fed back semi-iteratively (actually it’s doubly-linked real-time processed, i.e. semi-sequentially), produces the funnest results?

    When you put it that way, it is hilarious.

  • I was searching for “Can You Run It?” which analyzes your computer’s specs. I typed “can you run” and the second suggestion was

    “Can you run out of sperm?”

    I can’t say that question has ever occurred to me.

  • I once did a vanity search on my blog’s title, and the most interesting result was some guy on an Irish political forum linking to not one but two entries of mine as examples of “the Catholic Taliban.” One of the best compliments I ever received.

  • jf12 says:

    @SSM fwiw I do get msgs forwarded.

    Speaking of vanity, I was kinda proud of being banned, in case you couldn’t tell, like it validated my manhoodliness, or something.

  • Zippy says:

    I’m a bit behind the curve on the attacks on Sunshine. Apparently she has the right sort of enemies.

  • sunshinemary says:

    @jf12

    Speaking of vanity, I was kinda proud of being banned, in case you couldn’t tell, like it validated my manhoodliness, or something.

    Yeah, yeah, don’t let it go to yer head, man. 🙂 Imma un-ban you right now just to knock you down a peg. Unfortunately, you still won’t be able to comment because my blog is fini.

    @Zippy

    I’m a bit behind the curve on the attacks on Sunshine. Apparently she has the right sort of enemies.

    Careful now. I’ve been labeled dangerous by the [redacted by request], so you might want to ban me before it’s too late.

  • sunshinemary says:

    Zippy, could you delete this part “[redacted by request]”? That wasn’t a very nice thing for me to say, no matter how badly that person has treated me. Sometimes I speak (write) before I think.

  • sunshinemary says:

    Oh, and would you delete my 4:52 comment, too, of course? And, um, this one? Yeah. I think I should just go back into the kitchen and finish my lemon pies for Sunday now. I really need to just stay in the kitchen and off the internet. Everyone is happier when I’m in the kitchen and off teh interwebz. Yup.

    Happy Easter!

  • SSM, nothing wrong with calling a spade a spade. Nobody ever said you had to be “nice”. I didn’t read what you originally said, but I can’t imagine it wasn’t warranted.

    Have a good Easter, and it’s really a shame to see all of this go down.

  • Zippy says:

    malcolmthecynic:
    I don’t remember the exact remark, but I think she may have insulted Perez Hilton.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Googly narcissism at Zippy Catholic.

meta

