Night of the Living Dead Arguments

February 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

One meta-feature of the torture debates is the constant repetition of the unsound arguments discussed in the previous series, even after they have been demonstrated to be unsound.

In a comment box I called it the Zombie Apocalypse of Rhetoric: the corpses of long-dead arguments are re-animated over and over again in the hope that they will eat our brains.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Night of the Living Dead Arguments

  • John Farrell says:

    As a cinema buff, I have to register a complaint about the sad stereotype of zombies eating brains. Anyone even remotely familiar with the genre knows… they prefer pulling out and eating intestines.

    🙂

    Good to have you back, Zippy.

  • zippy says:

    Thanks, John, heh.

    Where did the brains thing come from anyway? I confess near complete unfamiliarity with the the genre other than in its form as intentional parody (Shawn of the Dead, Jonathan Coulton). I did see I am Legend, which was pretty well done I thought, but didn't involve the brains thing. I keep thinking there must be some canonical zombie movie with the brains thing, though I generally don't watch them — when you get to be like me you've gotta preserve what brain cells of your own that you can, which is already a losing battle with the single malt around, and I can just feel brain cells dying in droves when I watch movies like that.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Night of the Living Dead Arguments at Zippy Catholic.

meta

