Locked Out of the Concentration Camp

March 25, 2009 § 47 Comments

I was commenting at Vox Nazi in this thread when Henry Karlson started blocking my comments. I’ve saved the thread of course, so I can reproduce the whole thing here if he decides to monkey with it. For the record, the big bugaboo of a comment that he deleted went like this:

Henry: There is no waffling [at Vox Nova] about abortion.

Me: I am absolutely, completely, perfectly willing to let you guys hang by your own words on that particular point.

UPDATE: Henry further opines:

More importantly, Zippy’s continued behavior, which is never accurate in presenting the views and positions of others, went way beyond the call of duty in this thread, and properly earned his exile, when he has to continue to lie to make his point. He isn’t into truth. Nor, Mark, are you.

The odd thing about this particular comment is that what I said in the comment Henry deleted, which I recorded in this post, was that I am completely, perfectly willing to let the words of VN contributors and commenters speak for themselves. Folks are absolutely welcome and indeed encouraged to determine for themselves if they think my characterizations of VN match the actual words and behavior of VN contributors.

I don’t think the word “lie” means what he thinks it means.

(For what it is worth, I rather suspect that Henry actually believes his own BS).

Tagged:

§ 47 Responses to Locked Out of the Concentration Camp

  • love the girls says:

    Thank you Zippy.I very much appreciate your comments over on Vox Nova. They are exactly as you explain them.

  • RUs says:

    I wrote the following (paraphrased because I didn’t save it), and he deleted it, too:“Hm. Does your censorship of Zippy mean that you aren’t willing to face your self-made gallows?”

  • love the girls says:

    btw, if there was an award for best set of blog comments in terms of both context and hysterical delight, I would nominate you. Of course Henry Karlson did his part to perfection, but then again, he always does.

  • Kevin says:

    Thank you for all that you do here and at W4 Zippy. If I am ordained a priest, God willing, I pray that I can be as learned and as tireless in fighting error as you are.

  • former lover of vox nova says:

    Let us go hence and rest; she will not love. She shall not hear us if we sing hereof, Nor see love’s ways, how sore they are and steep. Come hence, let be, lie still; it is enough. Love is a barren sea, bitter and deep; And though she saw all heaven in flower above, She would not love.

  • e. says:

    Somebody actually took the time and effort to compose and dedicate a Poem to, of all people & things, the Vox Novans?Somebody needs to get a life.Or, better yet, read the Catechism.Seriously.

  • RUs says:

    You know, cuz like, he coulda been writin’ about green eggs and ham, ‘n stuff.

  • e. says:

    Better about something so inane as green eggs n’ ham than to those adhering to the Vox Novan heresy which would have Catholics defend the Pro-abortionists at whatever cost.What’s worse, to refer to these collectively as some sort of delectably desired damsel who is but refusing this one’s most ardent courtship, as if an unrequited love, no less, simply seems to betoken an insanity not even mere words can describe.

  • anon says:

    Maybe somebody just plagiarized a favortie poem from Swinburne or something. It could be the same one Eugene O’Neil used at the end of Long Day’s journey into Night. Maybe someone just thinks VN is like an drug addicted Kate Hepburn or something.

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    Google is a wondrous thing, God wot.

  • e. says:

    “It could be the same one Eugene O’Neil used at the end of Long Day’s journey into Night. <>Maybe someone just thinks VN is like an drug addicted Kate Hepburn or something.<>” (my emphasis)Okay, consider me e-dified. Thanks.

  • William Luse says:

    It was your use of either ‘Nazi’ or ‘genocide’ that got to them. Don’t take it personally, Zip. It’s not so much you they hate as the truth.

  • Tom says:

    Henry Karlson and Morning’s Minion have set up a sort of cargo cult, according to which recreating the structure of a reasoned argument is the same as creating a reasoned argument.People who overestimate their own intelligence and wisdom (and I don’t insist I’m not one of them) are as common as grass. What’s more interesting to me is how interesting other people find them.

  • e. says:

    “Zippy’s continued behavior, which is never accurate in presenting the views and positions of others, went way beyond the call of duty in this thread, and properly earned his exile, when he has to continue to lie to make his point. He isn’t into truth.”It might very well be that they are simply projecting themselves onto this notorious character known simply as “Zippy”.

  • Nice, Zippy, you are resorting to the infantile tactics of Coalition for Fog– expelled from civilized society, they go to their own place and reproduce entire conversations, all with a tone of bitterness. You need to get out more, I think. Or better still, try and learn something from Henry. He knows his theology, trust me on that one.

  • e. says:

    “expelled from <><>civilized<><> society”You mean to imply that one of the requisite conditions for a society to be considered ‘civilized’ is for such a society to be able to kill their young even before they’re born?

  • zippy says:

    <>“expelled from civilized society”<>Yeah, that one cracked me up too, e. I feel the love.

  • love the girls says:

    zippy writes : “For what it is worth, I rather suspect that Henry actually believes his own BS”I think that’s true.Likewise with Gerald Campbell.There’s nothing new about Gerald Campbell’s “personally opposed” pro-abortion argument except that bizarrely, he might actually believe it as oppose to simply using it as cynical cover. Which will keep him out of hell, (depending on how corrupted he really is), but won’t stop him from looking like a fool.And likewise with Henry Karlson, his believing it will keep him out of hell, (given the same caveat MM’s comment on Henry’s brilliance not with standing), but it won’t stop him from looking like a fool.

  • William Luse says:

    <>What’s more interesting to me is how interesting other people find them.<>Tom has a point. There is a certain fascination in watching professed Catholics prostrate themselves before the modern Mammon, but there should also come a point when the spectacle becomes too disgusting to tolerate.

  • Rodak says:

    This is rich. I gotta love it. Give my regards to Paul Cella.

  • Tom says:

    <>He knows his theology, trust me on that one.<>It’s not a question of knowing theology — I’m sure Henry would do fine on a theology GRE — but of applying it in practical situations.And a mind that suggests not giving an honorary degree to Obama contradicts St. Paul’s injunction to honor those in authority is a mind that is not operating at a high level.

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    Zippy has been expelled from civilized society? Omigosh. I didn’t know. That must mean I’m not civilized. I still hang out where Zippy hangs out on-line.I’m worried. 🙂

  • e. says:

    “I don’t think the word ‘lie’ means what he thinks it means.”I find this ironic since isn’t Henry Karlson the VN contributor who had actually initiated a series on that very subject?This would be so funny if it weren’t so tragic.

  • love the girls says:

    William Luse writes : “Tom has a point. There is a certain fascination in watching professed Catholics prostrate themselves before the modern Mammon, but there should also come a point when the spectacle becomes too disgusting to tolerate.”True. But I read Vox Nova, (I can’t post there since I’m on permanent moderation), because it gives me a good place for insight into the modern liberal catholic mind.

  • william luse says:

    <>it gives me a good place for insight into the modern liberal catholic mind.<>I should think one or two visits would have done the trick.

  • Anonymous says:

    Well, if Vox Nova is a concentration camp, what would you say about that:http://catholicsensibility.wordpress.com/Todd seems to outdo Morning, Henry karlson and Defrancisis and the rest of the bunch by a mile. I want to propose Todd as the Chief of Staff of the (New) Coalition for Fog in recognition for all the hard work spent in providing cover for the “Son of God”….

  • Guillermo Bustamante says:

    Congrats Zippy, I used your most proper mockery “Debate Club at Auschwitz”, several times.They are stuck forever with that flaming iron in their foreheads.Smile

  • victor says:

    Hey! Congrats! I was kicked of Vox Nova, too! I even < HREF="http://www.victorlams.com/audio/Victor_Lams_-_Comments_Closed.mp3" REL="nofollow">wrote a song about it<>.

  • Irenaeus says:

    I haven’t been to VN for a year, because MM annoyed me. I thought they were kinda balanced. But they booted YOU???? Holy crap, they really do suck.

  • Anonymous says:

    It seems that by implication, Zippy is a < HREF="http://vox-nova.com/2009/04/02/cardinal-dinardos-take-on-the-notre-dame-issue/#comment-51942" REL="nofollow">raving nutcase<>.

  • Tom says:

    I warmly recommend < HREF="http://vox-nova.com/2009/04/02/could-flannery-oconnor-have-been-a-predecessor-to-vox-nova/#comments" REL="nofollow">Could Flannery O’Connor Have Been A Predecessor to Vox Nova?<>“

  • RUs says:

    Right. And Graham Greene speaks to me through my teddy bear.

  • RUs says:

    I’m reminded of the infamous words of Senator Bentson in the so-called debate with Dan Quayle, but with modifications: “Professor, I’m familiar with Flannery O’Connor. I read Flannery O’Connor. Flannery O’Connor was a favorite of mine. Professor, you’re no Flannery O’Connor.” Someone needs to climb down from their ivory footstool.

  • DP says:

    Thank you for that link, Tom. I’ll be smiling over that last paragraph for the next several days.

  • Rodak says:

    <>It seems that by implication, Zippy is a raving nutcase.<>I concur and move that we make it explicit. All in favor?

  • c matt says:

    Having just done the stations of the cross based in part on st faustina two things really stuck with me. One, when we retort or reply, does God really want us to, or does He want us to suffer a rebuke in silence. And two, we will be judged by our efforts, not the success of our efforts. Having said that, I have not seen the VN thread having given up reading blogs for lent. I can only imagine what inanities they are spewing. Perhaps it is simply time to shake the dust of VN from our sandals?(BB disclaimer: typing from blackberry;spelling may be worse than usual)

  • Adolfo Rodriguez says:

    Morning’s Minion called me “what’s wrong with America” becasue I made a joke (and a minor one, at that)about leftist politics. I felt so honored to be receiving that criticism from him!

  • JohnMcG says:

    I just unsubsribed from VN on my Google Reader feed.I am tempted to despair sometimes in seeing the politicalization of Catholicism, which is not consistent with Easter joy.

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    I think we should all start banging our virtual mugs on our virtual tables and yelling, “We want Zippy! Speech! Post! New post from Zippy!”

    And so forth.

  • Judith M. says:

    Morning Minion is laying claim that VN is “civilized society”. What language is he using that would make that statement true? Newspeak?

  • c matt says:

    Well, if you suffer from hypotension, VN is certainly the cure.

  • Anonymous says:

    Any clue as to what exactly does the moniker “Morning Minion” mean anyway?

  • Anonymous says:

    The Windhover

    I caught this morning morning’s minion, king-
    dom of daylight’s dauphin, dapple-dawn-drawn Falcon, in his riding
    Of the rolling level underneath him steady air, and striding
    High there, how he rung upon the rein of a wimpling wing
    In his ecstasy! then off, off forth on swing,
    As a skate’s heel sweeps smooth on a bow-bend: the hurl and gliding
    Rebuffed the big wind. My heart in hiding
    Stirred for a bird, – the achieve of, the mastery of the thing!

    Brute beauty and valour and act, oh, air, pride, plume, here
    Buckle! AND the fire that breaks from thee then, a billion
    Times told lovelier, more dangerous, O my chevalier!

    No wonder of it: sheer plod makes plough down sillion
    Shine, and blue-bleak embers, ah my dear,
    Fall, gall themselves, and gash gold-vermilion.

    — Gerard Manley Hopkins

    Amazing poetry!!!!!

  • zippy says:

    Ah, < HREF="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eurocopter_Dauphin" REL="nofollow">Daylight’s Dauphin<>!

  • Anonymous says:

    “I think we should all start banging our virtual mugs on our virtual tables and yelling, ‘We want Zippy! Speech! Post! New post from Zippy!'”

    Is Zippy’s blog now officially gone kaput?

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    I meant nothing heavy by that comment. I merely meant that I’d love to see Zippy post more often for all our reading pleasure.

  • Anonymous says:

    “I meant nothing heavy by that comment.”

    There was nothing in my comment to suggest likewise.

    “I merely meant that I’d love to see Zippy post more often for all our reading pleasure.”

    Agreed, which is actually the very reason for my preceding statement; that is, given the lack or, better yet, the very absence of activity of this sort, I was of the notion that perhaps our honorable host has given up on blogging altogether perhaps in view of more noble pursuits.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Locked Out of the Concentration Camp at Zippy Catholic.

meta

