I Corinthians 8:9-13

October 20, 2008 § 7 Comments

9 But take heed lest perhaps this your liberty become a stumbling block to the weak. 10 For if a man see him that hath knowledge support the candidate who has policies of murdering the innocent, shall not his conscience, being weak, be emboldened to support a candidate who has policies of murdering the innocent?

11 And through thy knowledge shall the weak brother perish, for whom Christ hath died?

12 Now when you sin thus against the brethren, and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ. 13 Wherefore, if voting for a candidate who has policies of murdering the innocent scandalize my brother, I will never support such a candidate, lest I should scandalize my brother.

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to I Corinthians 8:9-13

  • John says:

    I find it hard to swallow that McCain will interpret a vote for him as a vote in favor of embryonic stem-cell research, especially since both candidates support it.

  • Tom says:

    V. 8 is the key to vv. 9-13.

  • love the girls says:

    Nice point. The slippery slope is often greased by scandal.

  • brandon field says:

    Tom, how do you <>do<> that?

  • I have already voted in Florida. It is a done deal. I voted Democrat. I have been Catholic for 45 years. Scandal is also when people tell me that I am going to hell because I did not vote like they wanted me to do so. It is my American right to do so. Would you call the national McCain office and ask a supervisor if he plans to do anything in the first 100 days against abortion? I doubt if he will. I also doubt if you will be better off for voting for a man who doesn’t do or will not do what he says he will do.

  • e. says:

    “It is a done deal. I voted Democrat. I have been Catholic for 45 years.”I often thought the many years one has been a Catholic serving as indisputable justification for advocating intrinsically evil acts as well as those who are for them.“Scandal is also when people tell me that I am going to hell because I did not vote like they wanted me to do so. It is my American right to do so.”Indeed, it is everybody’s American right to vote for those who distinctly advocate the federal funding of killing unborn children.“Would you call the national McCain office and ask a supervisor if he plans to do anything in the first 100 days against abortion? I doubt if he will. I also doubt if you will be better off for voting for a man who doesn’t do or will not do what he says he will do.”Clearly, we are far better off with having as leader of our great nation somebody who thinks highly of the sacrificial offering of unborn children.Good for you jeanne in tamp!The more unborn children we have killed as part of our federally funded programs, the better off we’ll be as a nation!

  • brendon says:

    <>Scandal is also when people tell me that I am going to hell because I did not vote like they wanted me to do so. It is my American right to do so.<>May I ask why you believe that your legal right to do something as an American citizen is in any way a moral justification for actually doing it? Because it seems obvious to me that there are certain legal rights that modern Americans are now said possess that have no actual moral or metaphysical grounding whatsoever and are thus not objectively rights at all, whatever the law says.The most obvious example is, of course, abortion. The laws of the United States currently recognize that a woman has the right to kill her unborn child. But both the teachings of the Church and right reason demonstrate that no such right exists in reality. Abortion is an objectively grave sin, the kind of sin that can indeed send the soul of the one who commits it to hell. I do not think that the saying, “It was my right as an American to do so,” will carry much weight before the judgment seat.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Corinthians 8:9-13 at Zippy Catholic.

meta

