Thoughts on Campaigning

September 19, 2008 § 6 Comments

Moving on from the private, anonymous act of voting, which doesn’t require us to say anything at all, we might start thinking about publicly campaigning for a candidate who supports murdering the innocent.

9 But take heed lest perhaps this your liberty become a stumbling block to the weak. 10 For if a man see him that hath knowledge sit at meat in the idol’s temple, shall not his conscience, being weak, be emboldened to eat those things which are sacrificed to idols?

11 And through thy knowledge shall the weak brother perish, for whom Christ hath died? 12 Now when you sin thus against the brethren, and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ. 13 Wherefore, if meat scandalize my brother, I will never eat flesh, lest I should scandalize my brother.

What’s on your bumper?

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to Thoughts on Campaigning

  • brandon field says:

    <>What’s on your bumper?<>“My kid beat up your honor roll student”…Well, not really, but I always thought it was funny.

  • JohnMcG says:

    What’s on the blog that has your name on the masthead?

  • zippy says:

    Some things I put there, and other things I did not.

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    I think it’s very important to see a continuum between the private act of voting and the public act of campaigning, putting up yard signs, etc. I think people make far too sharp a distinction between these. That was why I argued in my one post on what a vote is that we shouldn’t do things in private that we are objectively ashamed of.John, I really don’t think that’s the same thing at all. A group blog has to allow for differences of opinion, and God knows, Zippy and I have scarcely been silent, here.

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    Sort of like living in a condo complex of only semi-likeminded people where tenants are allowed to put up a sign for their favorite candidate on the front, “common,” piece of lawn.

  • Tim J. says:

    Go Razorbacks!!I have two of these, actually. They cover two bumper stickers that were there when I bought the car; one “Gore/Lieberman” and one “Not MY President!”.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thoughts on Campaigning at Zippy Catholic.

meta

