Executive Orders and Wateraborting

May 22, 2008 § 6 Comments

It may be worth pointing out that, should Obama be elected President, it is a virtual certainty that more particular actual abortions will be authorized directly by his personal executive orders than acts of waterboarding were authorized by President Bush.

I’m just saying.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to Executive Orders and Wateraborting

  • Tom says:

    Yes, and I don’t see how a personal executive order authorizing something that is currently unauthorized fails to be formal cooperation.

  • Tony M says:

    Funny thing about that. I felt sure that was the case also, and tried to make a similar case about Catholic politicians that their voting in favor of, for example, actual funding of abortions was formal cooperation and put them squarely under the sanction of automatic excommunication that applies for performing, procuring, or assisting an abortion. I was directed to some source (I am pretty sure from the Vatican, not from a US bishop, but I cannot now remember what source) that this kind of action does NOT put them under the automatic excommunication. So, I asked myself whether my premise is wrong – whether it constitutes formal cooperation. It is not logically necessary that the premise be in error – it could still be formal cooperation but not fall under the sanction for some other reason, but it does leave me doubting my comprehension of the issue. Whether it is formal cooperation with an actual abortion it remains gravely wrong to promote abortion, so it is not like failing to be formal cooperation in specific actual abortions would somehow condone Obama’s stance and putative action. He would still be guilty of a grave wrong. But it would require us to be more precise in our accusations. This is not how I would <> like <> the analysis of the situation to be – my preference is to go with it being straightforward formal cooperation with abortions and (for the Catholic politicians) automatic excommunication. But truth does not bend to my preferences.

  • discalcedyooper says:

    If we are to limit it to geography, we can say there will be more abortions done within military bases. Those particular abortions are simply being performed off military bases presently. Considering that many of our Catholic hospitals lease space within their facilities presently for abortion providers, there would seem to be some space to tolerate it from secular executive.

  • Tom says:

    Tony:My reasoning is this:Formal cooperation is a willing participation on the part of the cooperative agent in the act of the principal agent.Authorizing abortions on military bases (the chief example I had in mind) would be a willing participation on the part of the president in the particular acts of abortion that would therefore occur on military bases only because of the authorization.Canon 1398 reads, “A person who procures a completed abortion incurs a <>latae sententiae<> excommunication.” I’m not a canon lawyer, but I can well believe that this doesn’t mean that a person who formally cooperates with a person who procures a completed abortion incurs excommunication.

  • Kyle R. Cupp says:

    I take your point, Zippy, and it’s one that pro-life supporters of Obama have to come to terms with. I’m not of their number, so, hey, less mental work for me. That said, I find that the willingness—and even eagerness—of some pro-lifers to justify torture sometimes stems from the same moral argument that is used to justify abortion: the ends justify the means. This is not good. Both torture and abortion are abhorrent and should be outlawed, but underlying any legal measures must be changes in mind and heart. So I’m very worried when heroes of the pro-life movement like Michael Medved embrace torture. Sorry for the tangent.

  • zippy says:

    Kyle: Not a tangent. I brought it up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Executive Orders and Wateraborting at Zippy Catholic.

meta

