A Reality Show I Can Get Behind

May 9, 2008 § 6 Comments

I’d rather see a show where philosophers descend on a woman with a perfect exterior and rip into her for her intellectual and spiritual failings, put her on some kind of internally transformative regime, and turn her into a human being of substance. Can we get that?

(HT: Summa Minutiae via TSO)

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to A Reality Show I Can Get Behind

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    It would only work if they were good philosophers. Imagine a bunch of postmodernists descending on…Oh, never mind.So perhaps we cd. get some good analytical Thomists, even? Not that I’m a Thomist, but…And please, let them descend on a male, not a female. Otherwise it looks like bullying.

  • De Liliis says:

    Didn’t Kreeft already do this?

  • TS says:

    I do, and I’m sure Bill Luse would, enjoy the double-entendre’d title.

  • Eric says:

    This could never work, because the transformation of which you speak is a conversion of the heart that can only be wrought by the Holy Spirit. It requires the heart to encounter Christ, not the mind to encounter argument. It cannot be accomplished by philosophical argument alone.So rather than philosophers, have this person live among holy Dominicans for a while.

  • zippy says:

    I agree Eric — the intent was humorous, not serious, though I try to keep readers guessing by not tagging my posts.

  • Eric says:

    oops. sorry for missing your point, zippy. This is exactly why I should just keep my mouth shut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Reality Show I Can Get Behind at Zippy Catholic.

meta

