How About a Veggie Tales Version of Mein Kampf?

December 3, 2007 § 4 Comments

A couple of fun Compass-related quotes:

If someone did a movie adaptation of The Elders of the Protocol of Zion and then said they toned down the anti-Semitic parts of it would they get away with this?

I’ve yet to see a refutation of a bad book by people defending reading them.

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to How About a Veggie Tales Version of Mein Kampf?

  • Lydia McGrew says:

    I esp. like the post that goes with the second quote. He (or she) says what I’ve been saying yea, these many years. I get sick unto death of people implying that we have to fill our minds and lives with trash to prove what tough-guys we are as Christians. Doesn’t anybody understand just wanting to live in a decent mental and spiritual atmosphere, wanting to be left alone by the filth in the culture? There’s something almost juvenile about the knee-jerk reaction one gets in these contexts, even from fellow Christians: “What are you afraid of?”Some years ago I had a discussion like this with an acquaintance about having one’s children live on-campus at a secular university. I mentioned the sex in the dorms, the lack of privacy in co-ed dorms, the junk the roommate might have about in your face, and the like, and he said something to the effect of, “Don’t you think their faith will be able to handle it?”I tried explaining to him that I hope to raise what _I_ consider to be normal, Christian young adults, and that any normal, Christian young adult would strongly prefer _not_ to have to live in such an atmosphere. I myself would consider it a refined form of torture, so why would I subject them to it, and pay money for the privilege to boot? Fear has nothing to do with it.I got the feeling he didn’t understand.

  • William Luse says:

    Shouldn’t it be <>The Protocols of the Elders of Zion<>?

  • zippy says:

    It should be, but, um, I didn’t notice that when I copied and pasted the quote. One nice thing about being barely literate myself is that I often miss it when others scramble up their words or make typos or whatever.

  • William Luse says:

    If you’re reading Jeff Miller, you’re going to see a lot of it. But it’s part of his charm.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How About a Veggie Tales Version of Mein Kampf? at Zippy Catholic.

meta

